If I won the lottery

Standard

14508536_10207622084372138_1344210721_n

If I won the lottery tomorrow I would:

Quit my job and study Mathematics at university
Buy a nice house close to the city
Get a personal trainer
Travel in the holidays

Chances are I’m not going to win the lottery, but my lottery list is attainable even without winning. Over the past year I have daydreamed about winning the lottery, possibly to escape the daily grind that I am not totally satisfied with. Don’t get me wrong, my job is rewarding and I do like going into work. I don’t like the long hours I do or the lack of social outings I get to attend. It seems my lottery list is really just a way for me to incorporate things into my life that I feel are missing.

Deep down, I’m yearning for adventure and learning, for fitness, for social connection. I’m not after things to fill my life, I’m after more experiences that better me as a human. Sure, the lottery will help with this. I can’t actually afford a personal trainer or to take lavish holidays. But I don’t need the lotto winnings to have the valuable experiences I’m after.

Without the aid of the lottery, I aim to have the most fulfilling life that I can. I have to start building better habits to get me there and taking great risks. You don’t grow in the comfort zone.

First things first, I really want to study mathematics. What motivates me is how little I understand it. As an adult, I finally appreciate how it explains the world around us, how we can predict things that haven’t happened yet! It will also help me in my current career so that’s a bonus too! After some research, I found an online Postgraduate Diploma of Mathematics that I have just submitted an application for. I’m thrilled! I’m doing this on my own, without winning the lottery.

I can’t keep thinking that there are obstacles in the way of me living the life I want too. There are hurdles, yes, but these can be overcome if you’re willing to put in the hard work.

Leave a comment